On-line workshop: Bound states in hybrid superconductor nanostructures

Starts on: June 28, 2021 - 12:00 AM Ends on: June 29, 2021 - 11:59 PM

Our project proudly supports the workshop titled Bound states in hybrid superconductor nanostructures as part of the CMD 29 online series. Send in your contributed talk abstract by the 30th May, and register by the 27th June! Registration is free of charge but it is mandatory to listen to the talks.

This seminar series will replace the postponed CMD 29 conference co-organized by the European Physical Society and the Insitute of Physics.

Our workshop provides a forum to share the latest developments in theory, experiment and material synthesis on bound states arising in hybrid superconducting nanostructures. Such bound states, running under the flavours of Andreev bound states, Yu-Shiba-Rusinov states and Majorana bound states have the fundamental significance to describe and understand nanoscale superconductivity and to explore the latter’s potential for emerging quantum technologies. This prospect has spurred a great deal of efforts in recent years towards their creation and manipulation in various solid state platforms, including semiconductor nanowires, planar heterostructures, implanted adatoms, cavities, and quantum dot chains. With a loose spread over two days this event is intended to be compact but with a sufficiently large critical mass to provide a comprehensive coverage of this diverse and very active field of research.

Invited speakers:

  • Christian Ast, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Germany
  • Annica Black-Schaffer, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Michel Devoret, Yale University, USA
  • Sophie Guéron, University Paris-Saclay, France
  • Roman Lutchyn, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Michael Manfra, Purdue University, USA
  • Charles Marcus, Niels Bohr Institute and Microsoft Quantum Lab, Denmark
  • Bernard van Heck, Microsoft Quantum Lab Delft, The Netherlands


  • Bernd Braunecker, University of St Andrews, UK
  • Elsa Prada, Spanish National Research Council CSIC, Spain
  • Attila Geresdi, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
  • Alfredo Levy Yeyati, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
  • Ramón Aguado, Spanish National Research Council CSIC, Spain